Faculty & Staff

La'Tonyia Franklin, RN / Director of Surgical Skills (SPARTA)/ Coordinates all functions within SPARTA

La'Tonyia Franklin joined LSU Health Shreveport in the Center of Excellence for Arthritis and Rheumatology in 2000 after graduating from Centenary College of Louisiana.  She later became the Manager of a Medical Service Area in the Department of Pharmacology, Toxicology, & Neuroscience in 2006.  Ms. Franklin was sought after to develop a clinical research laboratory at the VA Medical Center in Shreveport, LA.  After 11 years of research, Ms. Franklin changed career paths and obtained her RN degree from Southern University.  She worked for four years as a staff Med. Surg. nurse and charge nurse.  With experience in lab startups, research, managing, and nursing, her expertise allowed her to become the first Director of Surgical Skills at LSUHS School of Medicine.  In her current roll as Director, Ms. Franklin coordinates all aspects of the lab from contracts and invoicing to course bookings and cadaver procurements.  

Contact for courses(318) 675-8465      
Email:  Lfran9@lsuhsc.edu


Supportive Staff

Danielle McDermott - Lab Tech (not pictured)
Elaine Stewart - Lab Tech (not pictured)
Ernesto Pena - Lab Tech (not pictured)
Deborah Baker - Central Processing Tech (not pictured)
Debbie Shine (Left) - Central Processing Tech

Surgical Skills Lab

Faculty and Staff