Alpha Omega Alpha

Alpha Omega Alpha is the only National Honor Medical Society. Students are elected in their junior or senior year on the basis of their academic performance, leadership, community, and volunteer service.  Founded in 1902 at the University of Illinois, the chapter at LSU Health Shreveport School of Medicine in Shreveport was established in 1973.  The society’s main goal is to stimulate academic excellence. The local chapter has been instrumental in bringing outstanding physicians from around the nation to Shreveport as lecturers and visiting professors. 

Current Officers

President: Andee Fontenot
Vice-President: Lauren Rando
Community Service Chair: Carol Crochet
NRMP Chair: Caroline DeGraw