James C. Patterson II, MD, PhD

Faculty Information

Professor and Chair of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine, Christus Schumpert Chair of Neurobiology
Areas of Specialty
Biological Psychiatry, Cognitive Neuroscience, Functional Brian Imaging, Neurodegenerative Disease, Traumatic Brain Injury

Other Information


James C. Patterson II, MD, PhD, has been named Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine at LSU Health Shreveport, effective August 1, 2019. Dr. Patterson was previously the Acting Deputy Chief of Staff and Chief of Mental Health Services at Overton Brooks VA Medical Center where he had served since 2013. He had been serving as a Gratis faculty member in the Department of Pharmacology, Toxicology, and Neuroscience. Prior to joining the VA staff, Dr. Patterson was on faculty at LSU Health Shreveport from 2000 until 2013 rising to the position of Professor and serving as the Director of PET Neuroimaging Research, as well as the Program Director for Residency Training of the Psychiatry Residency Program.

Dr. Patterson received his undergraduate degree in biology from Lamar University followed by his combined Doctor of Medicine and PhD in Neuroscience from the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston, where he also completed his Internship and Residency in Psychiatry. He completed a Psychiatry/Functional Neuroimaging Fellowship at the National Institutes of Mental Health’s Laboratory of Brain and Cognition in Bethesda, Maryland. He is Board Certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology.

In addition to serving on many committees at the VA and being an active member of the Shreveport Medical Society, Dr. Patterson is a peer-reviewer for the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences and eight other research journals. He has served as the Principle Investigator of 13 funded and IRB-approved research projects.