Nicholas E. Goeders, PhD

Faculty Information

Chairman of Pharmacology, Toxicology and Neuroscience; Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine; Executive Director of Louisiana Addiction Research Center
Areas of Specialty
Substance Use Disorder; Behavioral Pharmacology; Neuropharmacology

Contact Information

Work Phone

Other Information

Dr. Nicholas E. Goeders was born and raised in Louisiana and graduated with a BS in Psychology, with a minor in Chemistry from LSU-Shreveport. He received his PhD in Pharmacology from LSU Health Shreveport and received postdoctoral training in the Department of Neuroscience at The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore in the laboratories of Dr. Michael Kuhar. Dr. Goeders then returned to LSU Health Shreveport as an Assistant Professor.
He has been very successful over the past 30+ years as he rose through the ranks to Professor, and he was named Head of the Department of Pharmacology, Toxicology & Neuroscience in 2005. Dr. Goeders has been the major advisor for 11 PhD and 3 MS students and has served on the graduate advisory committees for over 40 students. He has also trained 10 postdoctoral fellows and hosted two sabbaticals. He has taught autonomic pharmacology, psychopharmacology, and addiction pharmacology to both medical and graduate students.
Dr. Goeders has led a very successful research program, and he is considered one of the world’s leaders on the role for stress in substance use disorder. While anecdotal reports have suggested that stress influences relapse to drug use for many years, Dr. Goeders’ research has helped to determine the mechanisms responsible for this phenomenon. He has published over 105 manuscripts in major pharmacological and neurobiological journals and has written 15 book chapters.
Although the majority of his research has been preclinical, Dr. Goeders has also translated his basic research findings into human clinical trials and holds five patents for his work. Dr. Goeders received research funding from the Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association and NIDA for his doctoral research and an individual NRSA grant from NIMH to support his postdoctoral research. He received his first R01 grant from NIH in 1986, and his research has been continually funded by NIH ever since.