The School of Medicine and the Office of Academic Affairs recognize excellence in teaching and compassionate patient care through a number of awards. These awards have specific criteria for nomination and voting procedures for each. They are presented at the Annual Awards Convocation for the senior class and also at the commencement exercises. These are administered through the Office of the Dean for Academic Affairs and the Dean of Student Affairs.


Allen A. Copping Excellence in Teaching Award

Clarence H. Webb Award for Outstanding Clinical Instruction

Adrian F. Reed Award for Outstanding Basic Science Instructor

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award – Faculty and Student

Allen A. Copping Excellence Awards

2021 Clinical Scientist Recipient

Congratulations to Dr. James Morris,  Associate Professor of Gastroenterology and Hepatology

2021 Basic Scientist Recipient

Congratulations to Dr. Lynn Harrison, Professor of Molecular and Cellular Physiology


Allen A. Copping Excellence in Teaching Award

Established in 1997, the Allen A. Copping Excellence in Teaching Award is given each year to selected individuals who are “uniquely gifted in imparting knowledge, possess a lifelong quest for discovery, lead by example, foster a sense of caring and compassion, and inspire the young men and women in whose capable hands will rest the health and well-being of the people of Louisiana.” Recipients are nominated by students and peers, and are chosen by a committee their leaders, colleagues and students based strictly on their academic teaching. The Allen A. Copping Excellence in Teaching Award is given at both LSU system medical school campuses in Shreveport and New Orleans, and it is the highest teaching award in the School of Medicine. The award is named in honor of the late Dr. Allen A. Copping, former Chancellor of LSU Medical Center and President of the LSU System.

2020 Recipient

Congratulations to Sumi Miriyala PhD, Assistant Professor of Cellular Biology & Anatomy