The Psychiatry Residency is a 4 year ACGME accredited program. The program Faculty consists of Board Certified Psychiatrists with several years of experience who have a variety of sub-specialty training. Our residents are exposed to a wide array of patients across multiple training sites. The clinical experience and educational activities foster well-rounded psychiatrists who are prepared to enter private practice or sub-specialty training. We are accredited for 32 total positions, and typically accept 8 interns per year in the NRMP Match.

Contact Us

Theresa McAnn, MBA

Program Coordinator

(318) 675-6619


Christine Payne, BS

Program Specialist

(318) 675-7520

Program Information

What Sets Us Apart?

  • In addition to our Inpatient Psychiatric Unit, we house a 17 bed Psychiatric Crisis Unit (PCU) that is a specialized division of the institution's Level 1 Trauma Center. The PCU provides acute psychiatric care to a diverse patient population.
  • Rotation in Forensic Psychiatry available as a PGY II and/or PGY IV includes: Observing sanity commissions, treating the mentally ill who are incarcerated, and treating patients with developmental disabilities.
  • Experience in commitment hearings including performing expert testimony in court.
  • Elective experiences include: Neuroradiology, ECT, and Sleep Medicine
  • Child & Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship
  • Forensic Psychiatry Fellowship


The General Psychiatry Program includes the following experiences:

  • Inpatient
  • Consultation Liaison
  • Forensic
  • Primary Care
  • Outpatient
  • Emergency
  • Child and Adolescent
  • Neurology
  • Addiction
  • Geriatric
  • ECT

Admission Requirements

The Psychiatry Residency Program participates exclusively with the Electronic Residency Application System (ERAS). International Medical Graduates must be ECFMG eligible to be selected for an interview, and must become ECFMG certified at the time of appointment. The program sponsors J-1 Visas only. For more information about the application process, check the FAQs below or click here.

Program Director

Amira Odisho, MD

Associate Program Director

James Patterson, MD, PhD


When is the application deadline?

January 15th. However, we encourage candidates to apply early because the interview schedule typically fills by November.

How many letters of recommendation are required?

At least 3, one of which should be from a psychiatrist.

Do you accept COMLEX?


What are your cut-off scores for USMLE or COMLEX?

We do not have a required score, but we do review the number of attempts.

Do you accept International Medical Graduates?


Do you sponsor Visas?

Only J1.

Do you have a graduation cut-off date?

Yes, we have a 5 year cut-off.

Do you have openings for PGY 2-4?

Generally, we do not have openings for upper level residents. However, we have had openings for PGY 2 on occasion. Feel free to contact us to check for openings.

Do you offer observerships or externships?


LSU Health Shreveport students are fans of Shreveport-Bossier!

Latest Happenings on Campus

    Psychiatry Residency