Clinical Pain Fellowship

The Department of Anesthesiology at LSU Health Shreveport has created an ACGME approved, one-year, clinical pain medicine fellowship program. The program involves multidisciplinary pain management training in all aspects of patient care including diagnostics, therapeutics, and minimally invasive surgical procedures. This highly competitive Fellowship program accepts one Fellow per year and graduated its first board-certified Anesthesiologist in the 2016-2017 academic year. Locally, this program specializes in the treatment of cancer-related pain. Fellows work closely with the Feist-Weiller Cancer Center and will gain considerable experience in the treatment and diagnosis of cancer-related pain. Fellows will also receive training in acute and chronic pain patient treatment with Dr. Aaron Calodney, MD, President of the American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians (ASIPP), at Precision Spine Care in Tyler, Texas.

Pain Fellow Applicants

Applicants interested in the 2020-21 academic year must submit the following documents

1. Fellowship Application (click to download)
2. Three (3) Letters of Reccomendation
4. USMLE Step Scores
5. Personal Statement
6. CV

Email all documents to




Dept. of Anesthesiology
LSU Health Shreveport
1501 Kings Highway
PO Box 33932
Shreveport, LA 71130-3932


Fellowship Coordinator
Ben Strickland
Phone: (318) 626-4041

Clinical Pain Fellowship

Department of Anesthesiology