News from LSU Health Shreveport

Investiture Ceremony Held for Department of Surgery Endowed Chair and Professors

Dr. Keith White – John C. McDonald Endowed Chair in Surgery

The John C. McDonald Endowed Chair in Surgery was established in 2003 to honor a true pioneer who did so much for our institution and community, the late Dr. John McDonald. Dr. McDonald first came to Shreveport in the late 1950’s to complete his internship at what is now LSU Health Shreveport. He returned in 1977 as Professor and Chair of the Department of Surgery. During his tenure as Chair, he brought organ transplantation to northwest Louisiana, established the Regional Burn Center and Level One Trauma Center, and expanded the residency program to include the VA Medical Center and E. A. Conway Hospital (now Ochsner LSU Health Shreveport Monroe Medical Center) in Monroe. He expanded the surgery faculty from two part-time surgeons to twenty-seven full-time faculty surgeons.  During his 23 years as chair of the Surgery Department, Dr. McDonald taught more than 100 medical residents in general surgery and influenced the education of more than 5000 medical students.  In 2000, he was appointed as the health sciences center’s first Chancellor where he oversaw a decade of unprecedented growth for the institution.  How fortunate for us that Dr. John C. McDonald chose to dedicate much of his career to LSU Health Shreveport and accomplished so much as an educator, surgeon, and scientist during his tenure here. The McDonald Chair was formed through generous gifts from Willis-Knighton Medical Center, Christus Health System, and various students of Dr. McDonald. Those gifts were matched with $400,000 from the Louisiana Board of Regents creating a $1 million endowed Chair. Its purpose is to enhance the national reputation of the Department of Surgery by supporting its research, education, and patient care initiatives. We are extremely grateful for the foresight of these many donors in creating this Chair, which is such a fitting way to honor a beloved and revered man who truly transformed the Department of Surgery and our campus. 

Dr. Kathryn Richardson – Albert Sklar Endowed Professorship in Surgery

The Albert Sklar Endowed Professorship in Surgery was established in 1998 by the late Dr. Whitney Boggs, Jr. to honor the memory of Mr. Albert Sklar, a patient and friend of Dr. Boggs.  Dr. Boggs, a highly regarded surgeon both locally and nationally, practiced in Shreveport for over 40 years and was a founding partner of the Colon and Rectal Associates.  Mr. Sklar was so grateful for the care Dr. Boggs provided him that he set up an endowment for colon and rectal education and research within the former Schumpert Foundation to honor Dr. Boggs.  In return, upon the death of Mr. Sklar, Dr. Boggs made a grand show of his appreciation and dedication to his profession by making the gift to establish this endowed professorship at LSU Health Shreveport. The Albert Sklar Professorship helps to strengthen the capacity of the Department of Surgery by supporting faculty enrichment programs, resident recruitment and education, research, technological improvements and bringing visiting lecturers to our campus to present to faculty and residents.  

Dr. Navdeep Samra – Charles D. Knight, MD Endowed Professorship in Surgery

The Charles D. Knight, MD Endowed Professorship in Surgery was established in 2005 in honor of Dr. Knight. Dr. Knight practiced general, thoracic, and vascular surgery for over 50 years in Shreveport. He was Chief of General Surgery at Confederate Memorial in the 60’s and Highland Hospital’s Medical director from 1993-2000. From 1971-1992 he was a Clinical Professor in the Department of Surgery.

The Knight Professorship was created by a gift from the Medical Center Clinics. This group was formed in 1968 by a group of 11 leading local physicians, all members of the visiting staff of Confederate Memorial Medical Center, later known as LSU Medical Center. Its sole purpose was to receive and donate funds to support resident training programs here at LSU. The Medical Center Clinics has funded a total of 9 endowed Professorships, each in the specialty areas of the Medical Center Clinics’ original board members, of which Dr. Charles Knight was a member. This group of physicians’ foresight and philanthropy have impacted our institution in unprecedented ways and we are eternally grateful for their investments in LSU Health Shreveport. The Knight Professorship enhances the quality and reputation of the Department of Surgery’s residency training program by supporting the recruiting of outstanding residents and providing them with educational and research opportunities.

Dr. Quyen Chu – Edward and Freda Green Endowed Professorship in Surgical Oncology

The Edward and Freda Green Endowed Professorship in Surgical Oncology was established in 2013 through a large bequest upon the passing of Mr. Green.  Mr. Green, an oil and gas engineer for Woods Operating and 50-year resident of Shreveport, suffered from esophageal cancer.  Our Chancellor, Dr. G.E. Ghali, and former Surgery Chair, Dr. Benjamin Li, treated Mr. Green, ultimately adding five more years of quality life.  Knowing what a gift this care was, and knowing that the Health Sciences Center gives this same gift to countless others every day, Mr. Green left a portion of his estate to the Foundation.  He wanted to give the support that would help doctors, researchers, and healthcare providers find cures for the diseases and ailments that plague others.  His gift led to the creation of the Edward and Freda Green Professorship in Surgical Oncology, as well as an endowed professorship in the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery.  The purpose of this endowment is to expand the research activities our Surgical Oncology Division and to increase its exposure both nationally and internationally.  

Share our News with your friends on Facebook, Twitter, and more! Just click the icon at the end of the news story to share.